Coronavirus Latest News

States to help federal government repatriate citizens stuck in India as soon as flight ban ends

NSW, Victoria and Queensland have offered to accept additional charter flights by the end of May, Scott Morrison says

New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland are likely to accept additional flights of vulnerable Australians fleeing India, with the states stepping in to assist the federal government, which plans three of its own repatriation flights this month.

The prime minister, Scott Morrison, announced the three extra state flights on Friday after a national cabinet meeting with state and territory leaders. He also declared the controversial policy banning Australians stranded in India from returning home would remain in place until 15 May as scheduled.

Continue reading…

Read the original article at The Guardian

Related Articles

Back to top button